The International CPTED Association

ICA WEBINAR: 25 Years of the ICA - Past, Present and Future

  • 23 Jul 2021
  • 16:00 - 17:30
  • Online (Live stream)

Registration

  • Please register here: https://bit.ly/36vMs8j

Disclaimer: “The views expressed in this webinar belong to our guest speakers and do not necessarily reflect the position of the ICA.”




Register here: https://bit.ly/36vMs8j


ICA WEBINAR:

25 YEARS OF THE ICA:

PAST, PRESENT & FUTURE

Special ICA webinar celebrating 25 years of the ICA



23 July 2021

16:00 MT (Calgary)

22:00 GMT

15:00 PDT (e.g. Los Angeles)

17:00 CDT (e.g. Mexico City)

18:00 EDT (e.g. New York)

23:00 BST (e.g. London)

00:00 CEST (+1) (e.g. Amsterdam)

03:30 IST (+1) (e.g. New Delhi)

06:00 HKG (+1) (e.g. Kong Kong)

08:00 AEST (+1) (e.g. Sydney)
10:00 NZST (+1) (e.g. Auckland)



The International CPTED Association is celebrating its Silver Jubilee Anniversary in 2021. In commemoration and celebration, they have put together a panel of the founders, past presidents and individuals who have been part of the last 25 years and continue to guide its efforts into the next 25 years. 


The Webinar will feature a panel discussion led by the current president as they take the audiences back in time revisiting the journey of the ICA over the last 25 years. The evolution of the ICA is parallel with the evolution of CPTED as we trace the journey of the CPTED concepts and then that of the CPTED movement. 


The conversation promises to be a must watch for every CPTED practitioner, advocate or student in any part of the world as the icons of the field get together to reminisce, share and celebrate the last two and half decades of achievement. The panelists including 2 co-founders from North America, 2 European veterans and past president from Australia will be in conversation with the current President from Latin America to trace the journey and outreach of CPTED into the farthest corners of the world today. 


In keeping with the survey responses based on audience preferences this webinar will steer away from lectures and presentations and are aiming to have a session of interaction and engagement with the global viewers online. While the global timing may not be convenient to all and some of the viewers may have to watch the recording, the live viewers will be afforded a chance for live discussions. This will be an online discussion forum where the esteemed panelists will share their knowledge and address all questions fielded by a worthy audience. 


Topics will include:

  • Status of CPTED practice in the 1990s especially when ICA began in 1996
  • Evolution of CPTED over the years
  • The ICA’s role through the years
  • ICA compared to other organizations like DOCA, DOCC and others
  • Challenges to the ICA over the years
  • Future direction and the role of the ICA in contemporary world

 

Our guest speakers will also be answering your questions. If you have any topic-related questions for our guest speakers, please enter them in the relevant section during registration. Alternatively, you can also email questions to us or post them in the comment box during the live webinar session.

The webinar will be presented in English. 


Please share this with anyone who you think might benefit from learning more on this topic.

We look forward to connecting with you!


Who should attend: CPTED professionals, safety and crime prevention specialists, public officials, safety consultants, police officers, academics, students, researchers, policy makers, urban development experts, criminologists, sociologists, social engineers, decision-makers, architects, urban planners & designers and others


Panelists:


GREGORY SAVILLE

Co-Founder & Inaugural President, USA

Gregory Saville is a criminologist, urban planner and former police officer. He is co-founder of the International CPTED Association and chairperson of the ICA course accreditation committee.

He currently runs AlterNation LLC, an international consulting firm based in Denver, Colorado. He is co-author of SafeGrowth: Building Neighborhoods of Safety and Livability and also You In Blue: A Guide for the New Cop.

Mail: gregory.saville@cpted.net


BARRY DAVIDSON

Co-Founder & Inaugural Executive Director, Canada

Barry is a ICCP-Advanced certified CPTED Practitioner and strategic business consultant that has worked around the globe solving real time challenges and issues that face our communities, businesses and government. With a history providing advisory services that relate to public space, community safety and sustainability he brings a unique insight and lens into the current COVID-19 pandemic and thoughts for the future.

Mail: barry.davidson@cpted.net


TONY LAKE

Past President, Australia

Tony Lake is the Immediate Past president of the ICA board on which he served for almost 20 years. Tony retired as an Inspector with the Queensland Police Service in 2007 after a career lasting 36 years.  At the time of retirement he was the project manager for the development and implementation of CPTED Guidelines for Queensland and provided professional input into the National CPTED Guidelines for New Zealand. 

Tony was employed as a crime prevention and security advisor for Amtac Professional Services, based in Brisbane Queensland, for 11 years after retiring from policing and now provides CPTED training with the ISMCPI in Australia and New Zealand. 

Mail: tony.lake@cpted.net


DR. TIM PASCOE

Regional Director, UK

Dr. Tim Pascoe has been a Community Safety Researcher for over 25 years carrying out qualitative and quantitative research and evaluation. He has a particular interest in Designing and Managing Out Crime. His work has resulted in a publication record that has added to the understanding of community safety problems and solutions. 

Mail: tim.pascoe@cpted.net


DR. PAUL VAN SOOMEREN

Regional Director, Netherlands

Paul (1952) studied Social Geography at the University of Amsterdam and Urban and Regional Planning at the same University. He worked at the Ministries of Justice and Interior (National Crime Prevention Institute) and in 1984 founded a private consultancy and research bureau under the name DSP-groep. Paul initiated the Dutch and European ICA Chapter decades ago and is working on several EU funded projects on CPTED.

Mail: paul.vansoomeren@cpted.net


and our Moderator 


DR. MACARENA RAU

President, Chile

Architect, Master and PhD in Urban Planning with extensive experience leading Urban Security Projects and Initiatives, both public and private, in Chile and in various countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Specialist in the CPTED methodology (Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design) with proven success in diagnosing, designing, executing and evaluating Violence and Crime Prevention projects from an Environmental perspective with experience in applying and teaching CPTED in various countries across the world.

Mail: president@cpted.net


ICA Mission Statement:

To create safer environments and improve the quality of life through the use of CPTED principles and strategies
  • Home
  • ICA WEBINAR: 25 Years of the ICA - Past, Present and Future
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software