The International CPTED Association

ICA WEBINAR: NGOs & CPTED - CHALLENGES AND POSSIBILITIES

  • 24 May 2021
  • 10:00 - 11:30 (WEDT)
  • Online (Live stream)

Registration

  • Please register using this link: https://bit.ly/3bhgkb4

Disclaimer: “The views expressed in this webinar belong to our guest speakers and do not necessarily reflect the position of the ICA.”


FREE!



Register here: https://bit.ly/3bhgkb4


ICA WEBINAR:

NGOs & CPTED -

CHALLENGES AND POSSIBILITIES

Regional ICA webinar organized by the Safer Sweden Foundation (ICA Chapter)


24 May 2021

10:00 CEST (Stockholm)

08:00 GMT

02:00 MDT (e.g. Calgary)

03:00 CDT (e.g. Mexico City)

04:00 EDT (e.g. New York)

09:00 BST (e.g. London)

13:30 IST (e.g. New Delhi)

18:00 AEST (e.g. Sydney)
20:00 NZST (e.g. Auckland)


The International CPTED Association proudly announces the upcoming webinar in collaboration with The Safer Sweden Foundation (SSF) as the next offering in the series of Free Webinars across all ICA regions.


The Safer Sweden Foundation has recently become the latest addition to the ICA family. The foundation is a politically and religiously independent NGO (non-governmental organization) that does not take any state subsidy and operates as a non-profit organization. The purpose is to improve crime victim support and to promote the development in the area of crime prevention. The foundation focuses on producing innovative ideas, forms of collaboration and solutions.


Being an NGO, the Foundation works on many different levels to increase Sweden’s ability to prevent crime and increase safety. One of the tools being used and promoted is CPTED. Thus far, Sweden has had a good tradition of working with social prevention strategies in crime prevention, yet it has not been for the last few years that situational crime prevention is being discussed and applied more widely.


As the ICA fans out across the globe spreading and promoting its Umbrella structure, there are many questions relevant to other such NGOs across the world working in the sphere of CPTED promotion and applications. The Safer Sweden Foundation, the Swedish chapter of ICA, is bringing to you a discussion on CPTED and its adoption by NGOs across the world but with a sharp focus on Europe. This will be an online discussion forum where the esteemed panelists will share their knowledge and address all questions fielded by a worthy audience.


    Topics will include:

      • Working as an NGO in the field of crime prevention
      • Which roles can an NGO have in crime prevention?
      • How can other sectors collaborate with an NGO?
      • Which challenges and possibilities can an NGO bring to the table?
      • Practical implementations of the global CPTED principles in their work with schools and urban planning.


      Our guest speakers will also be answering your questions. If you have any topic-related questions for our guest speakers, please enter them in the relevant section during registration. Alternatively, you can also email questions to us or pose them in the comment box during the live webinar session.


      The webinar will be presented in English. 


      Please share this invite with anyone who you think might benefit from learning more on this topic.


      We look forward to connecting with you!


      Who should attend: CPTED professionals, NGO representatives working in the field of crime prevention and community development, safety and crime prevention specialists, public officials, safety and security consultants, police officers, academics, students, researchers, policy makers, urban development experts, criminologists, sociologists, social engineers, decision-makers, architects, urban planners & designers, and others.


      Panelists: 

      Dr. MAGNUS LINDGREN

      Secretary-General, SSF

      Magnus is a PhD in Psychology, criminologist, former police officer and chief within the police. He has been a Secretary-General for the Safer Sweden Foundation for the past 13 years, with previous experience from the Swedish police, completed doctoral study on the topic of crime victims.

      Email: magnus.lindgren@tryggaresverige.org


      MARIKA HAUG

      Analyst & Criminologist (SSF)

      Marika holds a Bachelor's Degree in Criminology. Currently working as a Criminologist at the Safer Sweden Foundation she is busy with multiple safety analyses according to the Safer Sweden model and has developed a tool for “Safer Schools”. She is responsible for safety reviews of development plans and has to her credit several presentations at international and national conferences.

      Email: marika.haug@tryggaresverige.org

       

      Dr. CORNELIS UITTENBOGAARD

      Researcher & Urban Planner (SSF)

      Cornelis is an Urban planner and researcher at the Safer Sweden Foundation holding a PhD on the topic of design of underground stations in relation to crime and safety. He is the author of multiple published scientific articles and reports. He has also developed standard and handbook “BoTryggt2030” and has conducted several lectures on relevant topics at KTH Royal Institute of Technology.

      Email: cornelis.uittenbogaard@tryggaresverige.org



      ICA Mission Statement:

      To create safer environments and improve the quality of life through the use of CPTED principles and strategies
      • Home
      • ICA WEBINAR: NGOs & CPTED - CHALLENGES AND POSSIBILITIES
      Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software